PTAA’s 2017 Municipal Election Voter’s Guide

The primaries for municipal elections in Greensboro and High Point are tomorrow, October 10, so please be sure to get out there and vote if you live in either city. Over the last few weeks, representatives from PTAA have participated in interviews with candidates in every race, and the following recommendations are made based on the results of those interviews and past public service history of the candidates.

Greensboro City Council
Mayor – Nancy Vaughan (Incumbent)
District 1 – Sharon Hightower (Incumbent)
District 2 – No recommendation at this time
District 3 – Justin Outling (Incumbent)
District 4 – Nancy Hoffman (Incumbent)
District 5 – Tony Wilkins (Incumbent)
At-Large (Vote for up to three, three seats to fill):
Mike Barber (Incumbent)
Yvonne Johnson (Incumbent)
T. Dianne Bellamy Small (Past council member)

High Point City Council
Mayor – Jay Wagner (currently represents Ward 4 on council)
Ward 1 – Jeff Golden (Incumbent)
Ward 2 – Chris Williams (Incumbent)
Ward 3 (No incumbent) – Monica Peters
Ward 4 (No incumbent) – Wesley Hudson
Ward 5 (No incumbent) – Vic Jones
Ward 6 – Jason Ewing (Incumbent, unopposed)
At-Large (Vote for up to two seats, two seats to fill):
Cynthia Davis (Incumbent)
Britt Moore (Past council member)